Meet our Staff


yah-CFC-37Nick & Tiffany Wimmer

Executive Directors/ Founders

Story: Hailing from the rolling hills of Virginia, a spent my formative years in the blazing sun of Central Florida and then studied religion and philosophy on the shores of West Palm Beach where I met my best friend and bride, Tiffany Kaye.

We moved to the Carolinas in 2002 and by God’s grace and perfect design we were privileged to see Canaan form into the amazing place built by amazing people that it is now.
Hometown: Richmond, VA
Family: My wife Tiffany Kaye and I have three sons: Kaison Joseph (Keeper of the Keys- age 8), Finneas Justus (Oracle- age 6), Henley Dare (Tall Tree- age 3) and our baby girl Haven Simone (A Safe Harbor- 3 months)
Interesting Fact: Define interesting… I never had plans to start and direct a summer camp. I though I was either going to be an anatomy/ physiology teacher or a pastor.
Hobbies: When the camp isn’t running wide open and the kiddos are napping I try and find time to write, raise chickens, hunt, surf, get lost on a country road, read, listen to stories round a fire, drink a home-brew, and take a walk (though most of these are enjoyed with my whole family).
Favorite Food: Cuban, Peruvian, Taco-truck, venison, fresh fish, oysters, homemade bread and anything we grow in the garden!


yah-CFC-105Clay Neal
Operations Director

Story: I thought I wanted to be a drummer. Then I thought I wanted to play records at a radio station. I sold t-shirts to race fans for a while. I found my wife at a Bible Study. Thought I was going to be a youth pastor. Became a youth pastor to two. Then I got Nick Wimmers
phone number from Dave Shook at Old Town Outfitters. Nick told me about his friend Matt Harper jumping off a 100ft bridge. The rest is history!
Hometown: The Rock
Family: Beautiful Wife-Kim, Two fine sons- Asa and Ethan.
Interesting Fact: I really do like to clean. I don’t really like pets.
Hobbies: Searching for the best hot dog and slice of pizza. Making things out of stuff I find.
Favorite Food: Kim’s world famous Grilled cheese with fresh tomato, basil and garlic on homemade bread, Salt and Vinegar chips and a SWEET Tea!


yah-CFC-99Matt Harper
Program Director

Story: Matt is a graduate of Palm Beach Atlantic University, Matt received his B.A. in Communications with a minor in Biblical Studies.  After graduating college in 2003 Matt moved to England to work and live and also to backpack through out Europe.  Shortly after returning home Matt moved to the Carolinas in January 2005 to aid in the development of the camp as well as to volunteer as an Adventure Guide at the camp.  In 2008, Matt moved to Boston and began working as a case manager for mentally handicapped adults. In 2009, he married his dream girl Melissa and they moved back to the Carolinas in March 2010.  In November 2013 Matt and Melissa welcomed their little boy Miles into the world.  Matt serves as the Program Director and aids in the overall management of the camp.  Matt’s passion is to see people be totally free and having fun.
Hometown: Minneola, FL
Family: Melissa Harper (wife) Miles Harper (son)
Interesting Fact: I can flip my eye lids inside out.
Hobbies: To tell you the truth hobbies went out the window once our sweet little boy came into our life :)  In my previous life I loved to travel!
Favorite Food: I do not really have a favorite food, but any kind of Mexican cuisine is good with me! Now one of favorites recipes from the mom is Corn pon pie…simply awesome…


lara and I at Rainer

Drew Hart
Summer Camp Director

Story: I am originally from Orangeburg,SC. I grew up in the state park system and loved getting to spend time outdoors! My freshman year of high school we moved to Asheville, NC where I spent about 12 years and went to Montreat College to get a degree in Outdoor Education. I worked at a summer camp the summer after I graduated in 2010 where I met a wonderful woman who I was super lucky to call my wife 3 years later! I moved to the Charlotte area to pursue her before we got engaged and shortly after that I found Canaan by exploring Google Maps on my computer. This was definitely an act of God and a blessing on my life.
Hometown: Orangeburg,
Family: My wife Lara and our German shorthaired pointer/lab Daphne.
Interesting Fact: I have lived in 16 different houses in 28 years and I vacuum the house at least 3 times a week.
Hobbies: Whitewater Kayaking, Riding my motorcycle, getting out in nature, anything to do with water such as wakeboarding and boating, and finding all the local coffee shops with my wife anywhere we go.
Favorite Food: If its food it’s for me!


 

GriffenGriffen Williams
Adventure Manager

Story: I grew up in Fort Mill, SC. My love for adventure activities began with family vacations and the boy scouts. After high school, I attended Frostburg State University and Garrett College in Western Maryland. While there I guided rafting, taught skiing, rock climbing, kayaking, and canoeing. In 2009, I received a degree in Parks and Recreation Management with a concentration in Adventure Sports. After moving back to South Carolina, I started dating my wife Tori. We were engaged on the river beside the island and in 2012 we were married at the outdoor classroom. In 2013, I received a Masters of Education in Outdoor Education from Georgia College. After graduate school, Tori and I moved back to the Rock Hill area and both began working for Canaan.

I love the water, the mountains, and working outside. The outdoors allow people to learn more about themselves than they otherwise would in their normal life. It strips away the barriers and defenses and allows for a truly authentic environment. That is why I love to work with people in the out of doors. Wether it is with low ropes program, challenge course, zip line, kayaking, or back packing, these experiences that are such an amazing opportunity for growth and reflection.

 

 

 

Audrey Adams—affectionately known as Aundrea
Administrative Assistent

Story: The cliff notes are, it’s not mine—thank goodness! Jesus Christ got ahold of my life as a wee-lass and has been rewriting my story every since. I was educated at home until my college years. My childhood dream was to be a mom. I loved caring for kiddos and entertaining them in any way possible—board games, skits, etc. and still do! Overall, I’ve learned thus far that God is my competence and that his grace allows me to be Canaan. I must hold this blessing with an open hand.
Hometown: Where the tumble weeds…tumble. Farmington, NM
Family: Bazar! We’ve scared off a number of folks between quoting movie lines
to communicate and flashing our competitive natures over a game of cards. We’re
a force to be reckoned with, no doubt.
Interesting Fact: I use my feet to hold the skewer while roasting marshmallows over the fire…and on special occasions just one foot!
Hobbies: Kayaking, biking, running (ok jogging), rafting, climbing, origami, hiking, waterfall hunting, anything active!
Favorite Food: Not picky. Just NOT split pea soup, please!!


 

1475878_10152801554265815_4409766117618977371_nRobbie Conley
Marketing Manager

Story: I was born and raised in Southern California where I met my amazing wife Kelliann in 11th grade at Santa Clarita Christian School. I received my Bachelors of Science in Marketing from Winthrop University (the greatest college on earth!) in 2012. After working many different jobs in many different fields during and after college, it was clear that God wanted me to work at a Summer Camp.
Hometown: Yorba Linda, California
Family: My wife, Kelliann and our 2 dogs, Blitz & Brody
Interesting Fact: Each year I take a trip to Europe to photograph WWII locations
Hobbies: Antiques, Reading, Travel and Photography
Favorite Food: Al Pastor, Wienerschnitzel and Chinese Food